When are Workplace accounts provisioned and when are accounts invited?

There are 3 stages to creating a new Workplace user account:
  1. Provisioned: To create a user account within your Workplace. The user isn't notified.
  2. Invited: To allow a provisioned user to claim their account. The user is notified.
  3. Claimed: An invited user has activated their Workplace account.
How you invite your users to Workplace will determine whether their account is created as provisioned or invited. A user becomes billable only once they move from provisioned to invited.
Individual and manual account creation
Accounts that are created individually will be immediately set to invited and the user will be sent an email asking them to claim their account.
Bulk Account Creation
When creating accounts through using bulk account management tools, you'll choose whether you would like to invite these accounts now or later. If you select later, the accounts will be created as provisioned and will need to be invited at a later time.
G Suite or Microsoft Azure Active Directory
When creating accounts via G Suite or Microsoft Azure AD, you'll choose whether you would like to invite these accounts now or later.
If you choose to invite them now, accounts will be created as invited and users will be sent an invitation email. If you select later, the accounts will be created as provisioned and will need to be invited at a later time.
Other Cloud Identity Providers or Active Directory Sync Component
When connecting another cloud identity provider (example: Okta, OneLogin, or Ping Identity) or using the Active Directory Sync Component, the accounts will be created as provisioned and will need to be invited at a later time.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No